Termite on mulch

Hi,
I have been following this forum for a while now and have got lots of useful information in the process. Thank you all !
I am a resident of Bangalore and in the process of setting up a farm in Nanjangud. A year into it and we have made enough progress to keep us happy and motivated.
Recently we planted banana in about an acre and seeing good growth. Since the intention is to go completely natural, I am trying to use most suggested procedures for natural farming. So therefore incorporated mulching as the standard and used sugar cane trash for the same.
Now we have encountered termites at the base of some of these saplings, which I am assuming are attracted by the cellulose content of the mulch. In my research over the internet I have got some conflicting information about the usefulness/ harm from the termites.

It would help if some of the learned members can enlighten me about this situation. Do I just let them be and cover with more mulch or remove the mulch entirely.
The farm is located in an area where the terrain is rocky and therefore soil moisture content is very low.Therefore preserving every bit of moisture is very critical and with the given water situation, cannot even drench the plants with more than required water. There is hardly any tree cover in this region and our wind barriers are still growing.

Do let me know as to how I should proceed in this situation.

Regards
Vedha

Can you please upload some photos of effected area?

Why dont you try option of mulching with shredded coconut husk. The advantage oof this is that the powder of the husk is used for Cocopeat. Cocopeat can absorb water like anything. Israel uses coco peat fot hydro phonics.
You can check this vedio
youtube.com/watch?v=WEddSmMTq-8

How to prodcuce powdered coconut deshusk. You can have minimum irrigation.

Thou this is not a solution for termite, I have suggested alternative for sugarcane leaf mulching.

One more option is