Stepping in Agriculture

Hello,

I am an employed person in a private IT firm. With about 10 years of experience, I am very much tired and sick of this routine, machine like city life. I want to turn towards agriculture and lead a life close to Nature. Can I step into Agriculture? I have no land, no studies or experience in agri. Can someone guide me?

Regards
Jayakumar

Good topic. I know a lot of people who wish to go back to the basics and some who have actually done it.

I am not a farmer myself, but can tell you it is going to be hard initially but is worth the toil if you are passionate about it. Do you have the money to buy land and develop it? I am realizing the investment into a farm of economical size is significant.

Knowledge and experience can certainly be gained from books, talking to other farmers in person and on forums of course. You should find some related topics here: farmnest.com/forum/tags/?tagid=18

And read this too: farmnest.com/forum/farming-news- … discussion/

Good luck.

Thanks for the reply.

I am sure that some day I need to go back to simple way of living, that is in line with nature. I have some money to invest, but need to see where to invest. I am from Tamilnadu and think there are a lot of places.

I am already reading books on natural farming, but think nothing can parallel the actual experience.

Nice to hear that. I know these projects can take a lot of time, but do keep everyone posted once you begin - it will be interesting and useful to everyone else!

I have been trying to acquire a small piece of suitable land for several years now.

The first step would be reading up on the subject, the internet is a treasure trove of information on the subject. I would advise you to read “One straw revolution” by Masanonbu Fukuoka. Try and visit as many natural farmers in your area and learn from them.