Starting a NEW LAYER Poultry Project

Hey All , I am a farmer having some amount of experience in layer poultry. The farm i currently own is in Shimoga(Karnataka) and is a partnership firm. I am now starting a new farm on my own in Chitradurga for 30,000 layer birds.
It is new project which i have started from buying the land and construction. Any queries on this topic please feel free. :wink:

4 Likes

And I would also like to state that the cost of constructing one layer shed is coming up to 30L. A grower shed to 26L and the brooder shed to about 18L.
The cost of the chick is Rs.25 as of last week . The Brooder mash price is about Rs.23 per Kg, Grower mash - Rs. 20 and Layer mash - Rs.18.

Please note that the feed cost will reduce if you are preparing it yourself rather than buying the ready-made. Yes the feed mill cost would be an extra cost for you intially but on the long run it the best.

So the construction cost for 30,000 layer birds is coming upto 1cr.34L. The construction cost is as of today( calculating the raw material prices and labour).
The cost will be more if the project is started in / near big cities. Since i am starting near Chitradurga few of the raw materials and labour is little cheap.

1 Like

Dear Friend,

Appreciate initiative in providing information for poultry farmers.

I want to know whether you have planned to use automatic feeders and drinkers for your new shed.

Also, if you could break down the total cost and provide cost for the farm and the equipment. it will be easier for us.

thanks

good luck.
Mohammed Muneeb

Hi Mohammed,

I have not planned on the automatic feeder yet, but i have plans on the later stage. To start off with i will have that done manually.
Could you please ellaborate your query on ā€œEquipmentā€ . You meant only the automatic feeder part or the feed mill, automatic egg collector etc., aswell ?

These are not included in the estimate given above.

Thanks

1 Like

Dear Friend,

Thanks for the information.