Planning an agriculture project? - get the community opinion

Planning a new agricultural project but not sure where to start? Have an investment idea but want some opinions for a reality check? Want to do something in farming but confused which line to take or how much would it mean in terms of investment?

Post the details of your idea or where you want to be, your project objectives, how you plan to go ahead etc. on this topic; and let the farmnest community pool in their opinions and advice. You might even find someone who can guide you or join hands with you as you go!

1 Like

How can I not have my own project to start with? :wink:
farmnest.com/forum/farming-news- … discussion/

I have ancestral agricultural land, but I have been working as an employee for last 20 years and now I want to do something in farming. I am not sure where to start with. Whenever I approach my brother who lives in village or others in the village they say discouraging words about farming. I tried financing banana crop but not received a single paisa return, may be I did not supervise it properly. I tried with groundnuts again not received any money. May be my brother and my father who were supervising it duped me. Because of these experiences, I am reluctant to start anything new. Now I want to start small and try out something like vegetable growing as my farms are closer to Chennai and see how profitable it is, so that I can grow from there.

Please feel free to let me know your opinion.

-Ramaguru Prasad Jakkala

1 Like

Hi ramaguru,

If I were you, I would spend a season or two visiting the farm while others manage it as now to understand the bottlenecks and if and why the cultivation is not remunerative in the current setup. That would on one hand let you get a first hand picture of the true state and also give you an understanding of what needs to be done by yourself when you go full steam yourself.