Lemon Farming - Recommended Variety

Namaste,

I am a new farmer and in the process of setting up a farm land from scratch in Sira, Karnataka. This region is known as Balayu Seeme which means much dryer than Malnad regions of Karnataka. I have identified lemon as one of the main commercial crops (approx. 1,000 trees) I should be growing. Can fellow farmers in this forum please comment on the following:

1. Which variety of lemons is recommended to grow at scale?
  2. How does one go about marketing produce when the trees start yielding fruits? I want to understand the market before I commit to growing at such a scale.

Any help would be much appreciated.

1 Like

As per your briefing, you area is the most dry part of Karnataka.
If it is the case, what is the ground water position

Since Citrus varieties require irrigation, do you have the irrigation source?
If irrigation is a constraint, better not to grow Citrus (any variety).
More drought tolerant economic fruit trees like jamun, fig, tamarind, wood apple, may be considered by planting grafted plants of these varieties.
Pot watering for 2 dry seasons along with all drought management practices will make the plants survive and yield better from 3rd year.
Think about these alternatives

Dr Pamidi
Retd Scientist & Freelance Agriculture Advisor

2 Likes

Thank you Sir for your note.

I have 2 borewell on the land with sufficient water in both. I will install drip to irrigate the plants.

2 Likes

Yes, if you have enough water then consider for planting lemon. Check whether the soil suits for lemon. I have 100 lemon plants (yielding). You can plan to plant “Balaji” variety plants. You can procure from Rajamundri at cheaper prices. Plant with 18 feet gap. You may contact me at sdfarmsvellore@gmail.com for further information. Thank you.

2 Likes