Hydroponics - why is it not successful?

Hi All,

With all the advantages that Hydroponic setup provides, Higher Yield, Good quality of crop, Year round Production, Consistent quality, No pest fight, Hygienic, Less Resources to operate and more, why Hydroponics is not successful in India. I have been producing High Quality crops for almost 3 years now, and it check all the ticks on check list, in favour of Hydroponics,but why is it not successful.

I am sure every one on this Forum is well aware of Hydroponics, just a quick summary.Hydroponics involves growing crops in a soil-less medium, where the plant is supported either by water or substrate . In order to grow crops under hydroponics culture, a well-maintained Greenhouse is required, whereby the plants are cultivated under a controlled environment (Temperature, Relative Humidity, irrigation, fertilisation, pests & diseases, and other external weather conditions). Since the crops are grown in a soil-less medium, the nutrients required by the plant needs to be provided. This is done through a Control system (irrigation and fertilisation done at the same time). The nutrient solution is automatically mixed by a computer system (depending on the crop nutrient requirement) and both macro and micro nutrients are provided to the crops. In a hydroponics system, more crops are grown on the same area of land compared to the traditional farming since the crops grow vertically and there is more production/area
Advantages of Hydroponics
• Land is not necessary. It can be practiced in open spaces and in protected structures.
• Clean working environment.
• Low drudgery. No need of making beds, weeding, watering, etc.
• Continuous cultivation is possible.
• No soil borne diseases or nematode Damage.
• Off-season production is possible.
• Vegetable cultivation can be done with leisure sense.
• Higher yields with correct management practices.