How to get farmer status LEGALLY!?

Hi,
My name is Jestin George, 38 years old, and a salaried person working in Mumbai. I am a permanent resident of Mumbai.
I want to buy 1 or 2 acres agricultural land in Maharashtra “LEGALLY” for setting up a second home and growing trees, fruits and vegetables PURELY as hobby farming and not for sale.

No one from my father or mother’s side are farmers. I might have relatives who are farmers but i cannot expect them to help me.

My question is: What is the procedure to get farmer status LEGALLY?

i dont mind if the procedure is lengthy. i only want to ensure that it is PERFECTLY LEGAL IN ALL RESPECTS.

my email is juspige@rediffmail.com

Hi There

I went through a similar hurdle while I was trying to buy agri land here in Mah.

The problem; To buy agri land in Mah. you MUST have existing farm land in your name or you must show proof of being related to a farmer or show proof of being an agri worker on a farm. Impossible situation
The solution; In neighbouring states like T.Nadu / M.Pradesh you can buy agril land without any problem. Get a 7/12 extract in your name stating you own this agri land. Takes about a month for the talaati to issue this document to you. Next come to Mah. and show this 7/12 extract to the talaati here and you can legally buy the land.

To my knowledge there is no other way to buy agri land in Mah.

Best of luck
Gaurav Mehta
(Thane)

2 Likes

mehta10,

Interesting solution, adding to your reputation for your post.

I understand this rule exists in Karnataka too?

Kya karey? the Mah gov has got useless revenue laws. However my solution is correct and what I mean is that we have to go out of State to buy land there and then come back here to buy the original land we wanted to buy in the first place!!

Cheers.
Gaurav

Thanks for your advice all!

Now my next task is to hunt for sellers/ agents in other states…

Any ideas or numbers will be welcome from our veteran members.

thanks in advance…

regards,
JG