What are the adverse effects of WINDMILL in agriculture farm?

Dear Friends,

Several farmers are leasing out land for WINDMILLs. Could you please share what are the adverse effects of WINDMILLs on farms. Whether windmill cause water scarcity or reduce water level or any negative growth of agriculture activities in near by cultivations.

pls advise

rgds
rajan mathew

My two cents. I am not an expert on this, sharing my views in order to have more discussion on this topic.

I am unsure about all the adverse effects of wind mills on the farm land; however on the legal side it has come to my knowledge that central Govt has ammended company act-1956 in year 2011 or is about to make a change to bring windmills under company act- I could not appreciate it fully. If this has happenned or is about to happen would open a can of worms for small farmers. A huge set of problems/issues will be needed to sort out systematically which requires appropriate support system. Failure to comply to stated law can invite troubles or lock out of the affected area.

Reference:

1. Pune based wisein.org/wise-center-for-wind-power.asp
    FYI only.
  2. articles.timesofindia.indiatimes … tural-land
  3. indianexpress.com/news/mahar … te/895848/

Dear Parag ,

thanks noted for sharing. I have observed that continues rotation of windmills may cause disturbance in air /wind circulations and may adversely effect the water level or moisture contents in the air. Air near to windmill may more dry and we do not have a study report how Windmills effect near by farms in its crops/fertility. If any farmers or experts could through light on this aspects please guide. local farmers said windmill cause dryness in near by farms.