Swimming pool water for farming

Hi,

I’m new to farming

We have an agriculture land of 2 Acres which has very steep slop ( attached image for more clarity ) where we doing cultivation. Now we have to construct a tank where we can store water and use for the cultivation is basic idea.

Rather than just constructing a tank and use water, i thought to construct a swimming pool and use the same water for the crops cultivation.

1. Is swimming pool water can be useful for cultivation, as the water in swimming pool treated with chemicals?
  2. Can any suggest me regarding this and what kind of crops suitable for this ( Soil is Red soil and has very steep slope)

Pl suggest me.

Thank you.

Dear venuvu,

The slope will help you to catch rainwater and the tank can be positioned in the area where the water finally stops. The current position of the water tank is not conducive to catch the rainwater. It is better to have the tank at the current site of the borewell. This is my suggestion.

Whether the tank will be used for swimming is up to you. People in the village use water tank without any treatment whatsoever and they are healthy as well. But if you going to treat the water (using chlorine), my understanding is chlorine is not good for plants etc.

One more thing, if you want the water to be clean, have some freshwater fish in the water so that you can earn extra bucks as well.

Finally, you need to decide whether you want returns in short term (vegetables & flowers is a good option) or long term ( fruit bearing trees (mango, guava etc), plantation crops (coconut, palm oil etc))

Best of Luck!!!

Regards
padmanabhan_ganesan@yahoo.co.in

Ramprakash L Chandra

Swimming pool water contains excessive clorine and hydro cloric acid , Right ,

will kill any seed germinations , and also harm young plants , clorine toxicity,

regards

Hi All,
I have a question on the same line .