Suggestions to develop logged hilly land

Hello friends,
I have been reading these forums for past several months and joined today to seek suggestion to my very specific need. I have no farming experience but has been educating myself on ecological farming methods.

I recently bought a 10 acre land near Sawantwadi in southern Maharashtra. There was originally a forest which was logged about 10 years back, it was again logged in 2012 for harvesting firewood. Today there are only stumps of old trees and a dense regrowth forest in very initial stages. The land rises in elevation from 70 meters above MSL to 130 meters over a distance of 350 meter with variable gradient at different places. There is a seasonal stream that runs through the land and there is no scarcity of water.

I want to develop this degraded forest into an ecologically sustainable farm based on permaculture principles. I understand that it will need earthworks for digging ponds, swales and terracing; all of which are yet to be planned. But I do not want to just go big bang with JCB, completely clear all the vegetation and then terrace the land, as has been advised by everybody I talked to on neighbouring farms. I fear it will be more ecologically damaging to land and soil biome, which I want to avoid.

All the experts and enthusiasts, please suggest how should I proceed in this case.

Disclaimer: Iam no expert!!

Pls post snaps of the land…to get a idea
Natural farming prefers growing the local plants…check the surrounding lands for local crops/plants Have a soil test done to know whats best.
Grow some green manure…sunhemp etc for a layer mulch…or cut the undergrowth to use as mulch…mulching is preferred method in Natural farming