Suggestions for Soil improvement and Plantation

Hi,

I am new to farming but has passion to do integrated farming eventually. I bought a land near Kathipudi in Andhra Pradesh which is mainly a dry land surrounded with 2 ponds. This land has not been cultivated for last 10 years as it was kept with bank under loan. My goal is to go for natural farming as much as possible so I did soil analysis and geology survey for bore wells. There is only one bore well at this point and planning to add 3 more depending upon the plantation I go with. Here are the ranges for 6 soil samples we took across the farm and need your advise on soil improvement techniques if necessary.

pH - 7.6 to 10.24
E.C - 0.16 to 1.33
Org. Carbon - 0.14 to 0.81
Nitrogen (kg/ha) - 188 to 285
Phosphorus (kg/ha) - 21 to 35
Potassium (kg/ha) - 257 to 294

I was told based on the analysis, it’s Alkaline. If true, What are the pros and cons of Alkaline soils? What are the best methods to improve soil to make it non-alkaline? Any plantation can be done without soil amendment with current pH and other values?

Regards,
Raj

Diancha is a green manure crop which brings down PH value.

I have a consolidated list of Soil Improvements created in my blog. Please feel free to check and use it.

very highly technical problem dude,first i would suggest,get rid of this land :slight_smile:

but if you can’t,or dont want,then we have solutions.
your Ph balance is deadly for crops.any land with Ph balance higher than 7.5 is deadly,you can change it,but you need a Ph tester to check your parameters frequently,you can not waste time on sending soil samples to labs every 3 days.
you have to add acids,like nitric acid in water,and fertigate your land.
this process will take your land’s Ph level down.
how much acid needs to be added?
its a long discussion,which i do not hesitate to start,but please pardon me today as i have to take my kids out to celebrate new year’s evening.
i hope someone else throw light on this issue.