Solving farmers' problems through new designs

Hi all,

Discovery of this forum made my day. I am a product designer working to develop new machines for farmers. I come from farming family but lost touch with agriculture because of the studies. After working for govt for three years now I am back to use my education and training to help sustaining the profitability of farming in India.

I am constantly scouting for new problems. I have designed and fabricated one cotton picking machine and working on new problems.

Can anyone suggest which all areas I can work which are burning problems of the farmers and a mechanical intervention can solve the problem.

FB

hey birdie !
great to know about your background. industrial engineering is the need for today!
lot of countries already have a lot of research and development in this area… sadly india is lacking behind.
the main reason is the cost factor + i think these machineries are more economical for large farms.
anyways, i was watching some videos, and there was this mechanical attachment in which the farmer would load trays, and the machine would automatically plant the sapling in the soil. rice was being sown in the video, and about 8-10 plants at one go. i was really impressed.
i’ll post the link when i find it. i am really interested in such innovations and technology.

let me know what all possibilities have you thought of.

vvk

P.S. Glad to know your day was great :slight_smile:

Welcome flyingbird.

Innovations in small machinery are the biggest need of the day and there is a lot of scope in the area. Small intercultivators, weeders, transplanters, load carriers, mini no-till drills, crimpers are some of the areas on top of my mind.

I would also love to see a micro combine harvester, as small as possible that can address a variety of crops.

addition for the list below

Energyless (non motorised) brush cutters or de-weeders. See below pictures for hints.
Enrgyless seed drills.