Project Consulting help needed

Hi Everyone,

I am relatively new in farming as well as to this group.
After serving for 10 years in IT industry i have reached a point in my life to take a big step to move myself to farming.
Being a naturalist it was my passion from childhood days, even though my experience in farming is limited small scale vegetable farming in and around my house.
I am planning to buy 10 acre of land in Tirunelveli which is 100 KM from my place trivandrum. I need help from a professional is doing a feasibility study, soil test, ideation & implementation. Is there any organization or freelancer who can provide these services?.
Can some one guide me.

regards
Amal

Hi Amal,

Once you purchase the land, doing a soil test is no big deal as Agri department has mobile test centers which gives a detailed report as well as suggest suitable crops.

Having identified the crops, you need to decide the crops you intend to grow considering market dynamics, resource availability and technology you are willing to adapt to.

Its a long process that needs careful scrutiny at every stage, hence chart out the milestones and take one step at a time. Seeking clarity at each step makes life easier.

So your immediate thought process should be more of purchasing the land right now.

Hope this helps!

Regards

1. What will be general costs related to consultancy?
  2. Has anybody taken consultancy so far in this forum and what is the average cost per acre for consultancy?
  3. Is it per project consultancy or per hour consultancy?
  4. What are the things consultants provide? Just ideas and paperwork or any other thing?
  5. Is implementation also provided and if so, is there any additional costs involved?
  6. Do they provide consultancy (or implementation) up to a certain period (or until the project is complete)?

I am sure there may be more questions from others and hope to get some clarifications.