Planning to start a farm of 5 acres of land with no Bore well. Request for suggestions as I am an young farmer with no previous experience

I want to plant 4 acres with mango plantations and 1 acre with Indian black berry (Jamun) with 40 plants per acre. My location is Nuzvid near to vijayawada and its tropical sunny climate and mango orchids are famous in our location.

I had 5 acres of land with no bore well in it. i have tried with some methods like coconut and neem stick and geologist etc, but my efforts gone in vain. all my surrounding farms have bore wells which delivers 1.5" to 2" at 350 feet depth. I have tried upto 500 feet depth but not encountered with any water. i have almost lost 1.5 lakhs rupees spending for bore well.

Now, i have started thinking for alternative methods of water management. i want to go for farm pond with liners to store water and use it to farm with drip irrigation. i have taken the help of my neighboring farms to use their bore well for 4-5 days in a month. I have calculated to build a farm pond with 15m15m3m (L/B/H) and go for a good quality liner and green shade on the top for preventing evaporation losses. with the above mentioned dimensions i can store water of 650 m3. For 1-2 years of plantation i require 25 liters water per plant per day. with 650 m3 of water for 200 plants my water can be sufficient for almost 3 months once i gent my pond full. Can i go for this method if i have no bore well ?

I request you to suggest me for best possible ways of water management for the above planning and also suggest for good pond liners.

With no sufficient water what are the other commercial crops that i can manage to grow ?

1 Like

Only for the initial years, watering may be required for the fruit crops. Thereafter, they can sustain itself by rain.

To minimize the water given to the plants, you can use Baskar Save method.

Regards
Padmanabhan Ganesan

1 Like

Thank you for your inputs :slight_smile: