Planning to start a Dairy and livestock farm

Hi,

First of all I wish to thank Mr. Chandra, Dr. Kar and M.r Murli, whose post have ignited the fire in me to think in the animal husbandry direction.

I wish to venture out into dairy and livestock farming as I see a lot of scope for the same in coming times. I would like to give you a back ground of myself so that it could help you guide me in the right direction. All assistance shall be appreciated.

I am a farmer and have my land situated near Ambala, Haryana. I have a total land holding of approx 75 acres, 50 acres of which is under mango plantation and remaining 25 is for crop cultivation. I also hav additional 5 acres land adjoining my residence where i grow vegetables for personal consumption. The same 5 acres is where I plan to start my Dairy and livestock farm. We have kept cows and buffalos earlier but not for sale in the market. therefore do not have much idea on the financials and requirements for running a dairy.

Kindly suggest on what scale should i begin and what would i require for the same. I know it may sound redundant but i require assistance specific to my setup.

Thanks,

R Singh

Who will manage the dairy? If you dont have 100% trustworthy people dont venture into this.
This is a 0 holiday business. If any animal gets sick it has to be attended within 2-3 hrs.

If you are prepared with above points, there are lot of posts on same question what you asked in animals section. Kindly go thru all posts. If you still have questions please ask.

Hi Sri,

I would manage the dairy myself as I am mostly at the farm. Plus I have 2 men who manage my farm if and when i’m away…they are hardworking and trust worthy. I also have 10 laborers who stay at the farm year round. My land falls between Karnal and Ambala…therefore I have good veterinary services in close proximity. I ran a stud farm earlier so got to know a few doctors, therefore they would be at a calls notice.