Organic pesticide for Kharif season Maize and Pulses

Took the plunge into farming last month and planted maize intercropped with pulses - Moong (moongbean), Urad (uradbean), Lobia (cowpea) under rainfed conditions in a plot that’s sightly less than 1 acre in our village in Punjab. This used to be a chemically cultivated land, now under conversion to natural farming with Palekar method.

As an absentee farmer I manage by visiting the village every 25-30 days now. It also helps to have relatives there. Plan to expand area under cultivation and perhaps move there later and/or have a family of workers to take care of operations.

Right now the focus is to get this crop safely. My question is which pesticide out of Neemastra, Agniastra, and Bhramastra is suitable for Kharif season crops, particularly maize and pulses? And at what stage should they be sprayed?

Neelgai (bluebull) are a major problem in the area. While I can’t invest on fencing right away, I’ve heard that they are scared by anything that reflects. We’ve put up flags with reflective frills that move with wind. Spraying jeewamrit on crop should also repel animals from eating it. We will see if it works.

Any suggestion for preventive spraying of organic pesticides on maize and pulses?

Spray only if needed. My region maze dont need any spays at all. for pulses spray neem oil. you may need this from 10th day onwards.

Since this is first year from chemical to organic conversion, I’m expecting pest attack.

Thanks for neem oil suggestion for pulses. Will do. Can you tell how often? The crop is 35 days old today.

This part of the country Maize is considered to be prone to pest attacks. I hope there’s no harm if I do neem oil on maize as well?

frequency varies on population. if it is only precaution once in three weeks. if you sight any pest attack spray twice a week.