Newbie thoughts- Buy land and Learn or lease land and experiment

I am a newbie who has been thinking about agriculture for the past couple of years but have yet to take a plunge because of high land cost and also my own fear of the unknown and vast subject of agriculture. I believe that technology and help from people like the ones on this forum can be a boon for newbie’s like me. Hence this question that i have been pondering on for a few weeks now and i would like your views on the same- Since the land cost is huge even 100 Km from Bangalore does it make sense for people like me who do not have a background in agriculture to lease land for lets say 5 years and see if we can make this a profession. I am sure that in a couple of years i may have some basic knowledge of farming and with groups like this to help i am sure that the learning experience will be swift. Here is a very rough estimate

1. Land Lease cost (5 Acre) per year : Rs.100, 000
  2. Drip irrigation facility 3 Acre : Rs.2,50,000
  3. Land re fertilizations readiness : Rs.2,50,000
  4. Seeds/Saplings (ex: chrysanthemum): Rs.2,00,000
  5. Planting and Fertigation : Rs. 75,000
  6. Maintenance /Labour/Per year : Rs.2,50,000
    Total expense First year :Rs. 11,25,000
    On the remaining 2 Acre have a Water pond & other short term returns (am thinking livestock for daily cash rotation and also animals like sheep/goats)

Is the above concept a workable idea and also if you could let me know if i need to add numbers on the expense side. Also based on the experience of fellow farm enthusiasts and the progressive farmers if the above is put into practice with lets say chrysanthemum or any other type of flowers will there be viable returns and if yes what would the best and worst case scenario be.

your answers would greatly help me make my business case and hopefully steer me towards the right decission.

THank you
Prashanth

Dear Prashanth,

My estimation would as below: