New in Farming, need guidance

Hello Everyone,

I am new in Farming, recently taken 2 acre plot on lease (registered lease) for 10 years which is about 15 km distance from main city and well connected via road.

My background is IT (information technology), but wanted to do farming as well, hope i will find helpful and good guidance here.

I am trying to put all basic information about the plot:

1. Nothing has been done on to the plot from last 4-5 years, nor a single crop cultivated. While nearby areas are taken by local farmer and they are cultivating vegetables and other crops.

2. There are good amount of Termite across the plot (please see the attached picture). I am worried whether it will hamper crop, if yes, then how to get rid of it naturally without using harmful pesticide.

1. Plot is open, road pass from 2 side of the plot, wanted to know what will be the best Fencing option without investing too much amount. Was thinking of some short of live fencing or any other plant that can be use as fencing and later can be used.

2. I am thinking to start with Banana, Papaya and seasonal vegetable, please provide any other idea.

3. There is no arrangement of water as of now, however there is pond which is about 1/2 km distance away. Thought to use motor-pump (2 or 3 hp) to bring water in plot. Want to use most affordable ways.

Any guidance will be appreciated.

1. No need to remove the termite mound. It will eat only the dead leaves. You can use Termite Sand for improving the quality of the soil.
  2. If you feel there will be trespassing by humans and cattle, you should fence. Because, you are planning for short term crops like seasonal vegetables which will be easily taken eaten by cattle or taken away by people.