New farm project (query)

Hi All,

First of all, this being my first post on this forum, I wanted to say a quick “hi” to all the other members of this forum.

I am starting this new thread with 3 queries. I would be grateful if some member(s) could try to reply to these queries.

I am a farmer (though own agricultural land outside Maharashtra) and planning to purchase 1.25 acre of agricultural land approx. 50 kms. from the Mumbai city. This land is at the border of a concrete water naala (a water canal/water channel, also called a “neher” in Hindi). Please could someone clarify:

1. Someone told me the land touching a water naalla is government land and secondly, upto 15 metres land from the naalla belongs to the government, while another person told me up to 30 metres land from a water naalla is government land. Please could someone clarify:

(A) What is the actual rule regarding the land touching a water naalla in Maharashtra i.e. is it up to 15 metres or up to 30 metres?

(B) The land is nearly Rs 3 lakhs per guntha. The farmer selling the land is claiming to leave a 15 feet land from the naalla (for making a road) and selling the remaining land to me. My concern is if the, let’s say, 15 metres (approximately 50 feet) land adjoining a water naalla is government land and the farmer is leaving 15 feet land from the water nalla for the purpose of road (giving a path), the farmer is still selling/charging me money for the remaining 35 feet (50 feet - 15 feet) land which technically may belong to the government.

Please could some expert/knowledgeable person in this field clarify what is the exact rule when selling an agricultural land touching a water naalla in Maharashtra?