New Dairy Farm - barn designs, water requirement and hard water suitability

hi,

I am a software developer and planning to start a dairy farm with 10 cows in Rewari Haryana.

I need some good Barn designs and some information regarding water requirement for each cow per day.
Also we have hard water on our land so are a bit worried.

Can anyone please guide me here.

Best Regards,
Vishan

Dear Vishan,

Do you mean to say, you quit your job and start dairy? or you want to manage it with paid men.
If your presence is not there for 4 -5 hrs a day(no holidays) then go ahead. If you think dairy can be managed remotly with paid men it just a DISASTER (unless you are very lucky to have deidicated men).

You need 100Lts for each animal/day. to comment on water quality is difficult unless you get it tested.

You need atleast 2 acres of land to cultivate green fodder. THIS PART IS CRITICAL. You need to cultivate fodder 45-60 earlier you buy animals. When you get animals you should cut grass and feed animals. You can cultivate Napier CO4, Guine Grass,Rhodes Grass. Maize Sorghum.
You need 45Kg/day/animal Green grass (assuming that you will buy HF or Jersey animals)

You need milking machine.

I will post drawings of barn design by next week in the thread already existing.

Hi Sri,

Thanks for your response. I am working as a freelancer so I can spend some time on farm not an issue for me. Regarding green fodder Jowar is available here in my area which is cultivated on my own land.

Only issue I am facing is with Water quality am not sure about that. I will get it tested and post the report here next week.

Again thanks for your response and am looking forward to Barn designs :slight_smile:.

Regards,
Vishan

i would suggest you be careful when using water… make sure you use quality water as water might contain
Pathogens: Bacteria, Protozoa, Viruses