Need suggestion on crop selection and soil quality improvement

Hi All,

I am very new to farming and planned to start farming on my 4 acres of land situated at 50 km from Indore. I have planned to start it in partnership with cousin brother who is already a farmer.I will be able to provide my time at Saturday and Sunday. Attached is my soil test report and crop detail which we produced in last 3 three season.There is no water availability right now it is fully dependent on rain water but i can arrange it.
1.Can some one will suggest me which crop should i select to start farming?
Generally farmer do farming of crops like cotton,soybean,chickpeas,maize,pulses,vegetables
2.What action i should take in improving my soil quality
I am more interested in organic way.

Don’t worry about the current state of the soil. You can improve easily with several ways. If you can get hold of pond silt you can dump 25 tractors of the same in one acre to improve the same. There are several other ways as well.

From your post, I see that you are only doing short-term crops like cotton, soybean, chickpeas, maize, pulses, vegetables. I suggest you to keep one acre for short-term crops and allocate the other 3 acres for tree based crops.

Regards
Padmanabhan Ganesan

Thanks Padmanabhan for your response!

Due to my financial restriction i can afford to have tree crops as it would provide me output after 1- 2 years but as i am new to this field and also want to learn new things can you please suggest how tree crop will be more beneficial to me than short term crop also can you please suggest me few tree crops.

In the long run, trees are beneficial as you will not have to do much work except for harvesting. The crops you are current having in mind are all dependent on too much labour and labour is going to be a problem in the long run both in terms of availability as well as remuneration.