Looking to start farming around Coimbatore

All,

I am currently residing in United states and looking to move back to India early next year .
I have no experience in agri neither do my family or anyone in my family tree , I have been thinking about starting agriculture but I haven been able to materialize it . I seek a lot of advice from experts in this forum .

First and foremost , Is it a right idea to start up agriculture @ this time when everybody are moving away from it ?
Is Coimbatore(mostly western Tamilnadu) a right choice of place provided the lack or rainfall and water scarcity they are witnessing ?
What are the things I will have to consider before buying an agricultural land and best forum/site where I can agricultural land sales ?
Does the government provide subsidies/loans for buying land/seeds/sapliing or fertilizer ? how do I reach them ?

Thanks
Frank

Hello Frank,

I too was in the same boat up until March this year. Quit my S/W job and moved back to take up farming on a full-time basis.

My first and foremost advice for you before buying land is to ensure that you have local support (from outside as well as inside the family). Mr. Rajan Mathew/Savera farms and few others have posted their experience on buying land in TN/Karnataka. You may want to go thru the threads. BEWARE of brokers if you are interacting with them for the first time. I would prefer going thru someone who you or your close family members/friends know of. As well catch hold of a good lawyer who deals with agricultural property.

Once you identify the land and after verification of documents, you should consult someone who can guide you on identifying the ground water level in the farm and neighborhood, if there isn’t already any water source. There are also lots of water conserving techniques available in this forum as well as on the net.

Drip/Sprinkler usage can reduce use of water to a great extend. There are subsidies available from Center/State for the same.