Growing capsicum in polyhouse - my experience

Greetings everyone!
I have recently joined this forum, and found it very amusing and informative.
I am a farmer based in Nasik, Maharashtra, and i grow Capsicums (red,yellow,green)
Recently i did plantation for my 4300 sq mtr polyhouse with capsicums.

Thought would share my experience with you all, for your comments.

Vivek

5 Likes

Congratulation! and welcome aboard.

Is it possible to share cost you incurred for construction of poly house and what equipments you have installed? Please share this information from guidance point of view.

Please share the details like,

1. Potential markets you captured.
  2. Costs incurred.
  3. Life of this crop and total production expected.
  4. Expected profit ( if you are comfortable sharing true figures :wink: )
  5. Type of soil and changes done if any…
  6. Avg water requirement per day.
  7. Number of people employed and avg salaries…
  8. Right time to start plantation…
  9. Steps to maintain temperature…
  10. Trainings you took…if any
    etc…

I hope these questions will help you answer most of the queries in this regard…

1 Like

hi shri,
thanks for the welcome :slight_smile:
i am an old farmer ( read, experience wise, not age wise :stuck_out_tongue: ) and both my Polyhouses are 3 yrs old.
the polyhouse cost per sq. mtr (in yr 2011 was Rs.480)
this cost includes the structure (metal pipes), the UV protection sheet, and the side & upper net curtains, and also the labour charges for the installation.
this cost must have gone high, i am sure.
also now, there are various advanced systems with a bit of an additional costs, which would definitely benefit you.

talking about equipment, the below are the details -

1. 16mm drip system (make - finolex plasson)
  2. fogging system (make - finolex plasson)
  3. HTP sprayer (runs on electric motor as well as desiel engine) - for spraying purpose
  4. 7 hp submersible pump ( for drip and fogging )