Green House or Organic Farming Viability in 30 cents of land

Dear Farmnest members,

I am Hari and I work in IT. But I am very interested in Greenhouse/Organic or related farming. I have 30 cents of land near Anandhapuram Vizag. I would like to know if this small amount of land is good enough for any of the items I mentioned above. If at all if you say its enough to start (thanks in Advance), on an average for how much investment is needed and how much return I can expect. (if the business is average). Want to get a rough idea atleast about how much can I expect per year. Please shed some light. Really appreciate your responses.

Dear Sri Hari,

Welcome to our Forum and all the best to you.

I give my suggestion, not to go for green house farming, as you are an employee and an abscent farmer. In green house farming, more investments incurs and also, plantings will be in high density and cost of the plants will be more. Since the farming is in close circuit, possibility of diseases and Insects will be more, if broke. The Greenhouse farming to be better with close supervision of the owner or a responsible manager.

I appreciate your interest and here I am informing the expendituresinvolved in construction of Greenhouse in one acre(4,000 sq mtrs ), (for Naturally Ventilated Greenhouse). Approximately Rs 26,00,000/- to rs 30,00,000/- is required for construction of Greenhouse in one acre and rs 1,00,000/- minimum to any amount , basing on the crop and plants cost. In your land of 30 cents, (1,200 sq mtrs area), hardly you can go for 15 cents covering area, ie; around 560 sq mtrs.

Think twice before investing on greenhouse and take opinions from few farmers also.