Economy in 1 acre land

I am a newbie to farming world. I am trying to grow organic on one acre land . I need a self sustainable plan from scratch. My soil is black cotton soil. All experienced organic farmers please help as there is very less literature on economics of organic farming.

What is your plan?

1 Like

Dear Basavaraj Sir.
We welcome you, to our Farmnest Forum.
To get good advices, in Organic Farming, please give all details of your Area, Land, Water facilities, What type of crops you are interested, your Plans as asked by our Senior Member Sri Padmanabhan Sir , time spending at your land etc, better with any photographs/videos of your land.
Most of our Experienced Members will give their advice, answers to you
g.p.rao, farmer

2 Likes

Thank you for taking intrest to help me out.
Sir I am planning to grow millets and maize and vegetables. Water is from a river source but i will be using drip irrigation The size is 263 ft north& south and 185 ft east& west.
Sir also i am planning to grow trees at the border , trees like neem jamun jackfruit and peepal. I also intend to make a cowshed and biogas out side the farm just adjacent at the east. I wish to spend atleast 2 hours at the farm.

Dear Basavaraj Sir,
very happy, for your decision of doing Organic farming in your Land. Presently, our lands are very poor in Organic Carbon content, because of the Green Revolution during '60s, due to heavy/abnormal usage of Inorganic Fertilizers.
Hence, when you start farming, first, I advise you to spread 5 to 10 tons of well decomposed Bio Enriched FYM ( per acre ), along with 250 kgs of Neem cake, 500 kgs of Vermicompost, and grow Sun Hemp crop first, in your Land @ 30 kilo seed per acre, and at the beginning of the Flowering stage (at around 50 to 60 days age ), cut the crop and plough it, Till the crop in your land. It increases the Organic Carbon content in your land soil, besides increases the porosity of the Black cotton soil.