ECommerce Software to help Farmers

Hello all,

I am a software consultant by Profession owning 40 acres of Coffee Estate. I am trying to develop an eCommerce portal. I thought of helping Farmers fetch better price for their produce and also enable export of agricultural commodities.

As a planter, I thought there must be a help to get buyers for the produce who offer better price. We were able to sell coffee or pepper at market prices (not sure whether it is the correct price). When we sell timber, we feel that we had been forced to undersell. There is no idea what is the market for timber and what will be the farm gate price.

With this background, I am having an idea of an e-commerce portal. I want to know from the members what sort of facilities the farmers will expect in the portal. Also there will be many farmers who do not know about internet and do not have access to the internet. How can we make it useful to those farmers?

Ideas from this forum will help me build a portal to serve the farmers of India.

Hi

Very noble thought, but i have one question.
Have you asked your local farmer what he thinks of your idea and will he support you and use your services?

In our area, people have accepted the market condition as way of life. They grow, harvest, go to market and come back with what the buyer gives them without a word of protest. So I think it is very difficult to alter this mentality that the farmers have grown comfortably into.
We tried to impart dairy knowledge, crop knowledge, etc. NOONE from nearby villagers were interested, almost as if they are scared to change.

Technology and coding is the easy part, the difficult part is to change farmer mentality and acceptance.

BTW, if you need help in coding, let me know, I have some free time in hand and am OK with html and PHP. In fact working on one project which hope gets over soon.

Nikhil

Thanks for your message Nikhil.

Hi Nikhil,

Please give your mail id. Hope u can see mine.

Mahesh R

Hi Mahesh,