Crops and cultivation

I would like to introduce myself that I am a retired mechanical Engineer turned as a farmer and maintaining 3 acres of ancestral property of dry land for irrigation, recently installed Solar pump with Drip Irrigation. With much enthusiasm, I want to raise Moringa plants, which I came to know that it is fetching good returns.

I had purchased 375 nos of Crafted Moringa Seedlings from a reputed nursery and planted them last month. In 20 days time, 310 plants were found to be having dried and died without any baby leaves and when scratched the stem, there was no green at all. And hence, planned to replace them.

As I was not instructed by the nursery of the plant about the planting ,manuring, watering and cultivation, with the local guidance,

1. I had applied Fact 20:20:16 manure 100gms with 30gms Carbofuran as base manure.
  2. During planting it was raining and continued for further one week.
  3. The soil kept in the poly bag for raising the plant was too hard even after watering.
  4. Some of the plants were delivered without leaves and and in dried condition.

When I checked with the Nursery, they had told me that the application of Factumpos and Carbofuran was the cause for death. But they do not have the answer for the remaining 65 plants growing well . I had noticed that many of the died plants available at the nursery from the same lot given to me. The soil in the poly bag was too hard and after removing the bag, no traces of roots also.

Further, I had purchased 300 plants from the same nursery and replaced all died plants with new ones. Here, This time, I have noticed the poly bag was having coconut fibre in soft condition and after removing the poly bag, I could see the root also spreading everywhere. It is 10 days old now and the plants are grown with green buds.