Azolla issues

Hello

We are having a dairy farm with 30 cows near Mysore in Karnataka. We had decided to grow azolla and built tanks with dimension 20x6 feet with depth of 6 inches. This has been done in cement.

We innoculated with culture in the beginning and before we could start harvesting, the azolla started becoming blackish in colour. Please can you help what the issue could have been.

After keeping it like that for 1 week, slowly the color changed back to green. However when we harvested the azolla, there were many worms/parasites that came out.

Please help on how to control the worms from coming in the azolla pond. The pond has a plastic roof to avoid rainwater as well as other matter from falling in.

Waiting for your reply.

Thanks

Nikhil

Normally, polythene sheets are suggested to lay on the tank to cultivate azolla.
Water might contaminated. If photo attached, there was better information.
Can you please attach some photos?

Hai Nikhil ji,

i am an Azolla farmer using azolla for cows.

firstly, since you wrote that you built cement tanks, the new cement is alkaline and may have affected the azolla.

secondly, too much of cow dung will make the water putrify and decompose . do not put more than 10 mm ( half inch) height of cow dung.

slowly and gently, agitate the cow dung layer below with a flat stick, daily in the morning. this will remove the trapped gases and send nutrients to the top.

the azolla becoming green is a sign that the water is NOW suitable for azolla. whatever was in excess has been neutralised.

for 20 x 6 feet of pond , put 100 gram mineral mixture and 4 table spoon of green gram flour, once a month.

the size of full grown azolla will be 12 to 16 mm.

wash nicely in running water so that the dung smell is removed, for feeding to cows. if dung smell is there, cows will not touch the azolla.

regards

P Madhava Varma
ZBSF farmer
visakhapatnam

1. Use two inch height fresh red soil spread over all the tank along with cow dung.