As on today, which is the highest returning(money) crop in india?

Respected members,
I am new to farming, today I got a doubt when thinking about different crops, Which crop is the highest returning crop in india till date. :astonished:

Dear sir
India is divided in to various climatic regions with varying temperature/soil ranges and peculiar regional conditions.If Agar is available in NE as costliest crop.Vanilla(costliest) is grown in ideal conditions in the mountaineous region of ooty, Saffron(costliest) is grown in pampore kashmir,Ginseng(costliest) can be grown in high altitude areas of himalayan ranges exceeding 9000 ft and above & extending upto tree line(where from no tree grows in high altitudes),The plains can boast of artemesia annua,safed musli and poly house related products.Thus your views are very optimistic with less on ground knowledge.You should not think of growing the costliest crops but think of which crop suits your region with minimum investment.You may contact me if needed for any more information.Regards.
rcdixit

Hi Sadhu,
I am sorry to be the messenger of bad news, but your logic for getting into farming is wrong! please do not think about the highest yield and the costliest crop. As Dixit rightly pointed, each region and climatic condition will have its suitable crop. Simplest example of ready-made disaster is cultivating Arecanut in dryland plains when it is actually a wetland crop. Similarly growing delicate crops like flowers, mushrooms, lettuce in any place except Bangalore or Ooty will lead to severe losses.

Please study your area, your investment capability and labour availability before you get in
regards
Levine

Well written and people should have the same kind of attitude otherwise getting into farming will be a disaster.

Regards
Padmanabhan Ganesan
agricultureforeverybody.blogspot.com

Well said Dixit & learnlawry,