Advice for Organic Land Preparation

I need some basic advice. I am an IT engineer , - new to farming and planning to develop my 5 acres of land for organic farming. Currently the land is not fertile , and I am confident it can be brought back to life.

My plan is to prep my land by plouging it with cow manure. Then planting random pulses for about 60 days and then re-ploughing the land along with the crop which is a proven way to increase the soil nutrition. My question is how do I go about watering the pulses. Since I am just prepping the land I have not setup drip. I am able to travel to my land only in the weekends atleast for now. Any ideas ?

1 Like

You can use the current monsoon season to grow the pulses.

I don’t suggest you to plough the land with cow manure(fresh). Instead, spread the dried manure evenly on the land along with dried leaves and sprinkle the cow urine along with fresh cow dung.

You can also use the standard improvement plan suggested by many including mine (http://agricultureforeverybody.blogspot.in/2012/10/how-to-improve-soil.html).

1 Like

Thank you very much for the insight sir.

Hi,

You must not use fresh cow manure on your soil. It brings lots of diseases and takes a lot of time to provide nutrients to plants.
You must use well dried and composted material. You can go with vermi composting or bacteria composting that can provide good nutrients to your crops in less time.
Also, there are biofertilizers available that can help you improve soil health.

You should start with soil testing and follow integrated nutrient management. A soil test will tell you what kind of nutrients are needed and how to add them.

Regarding irrigation - pulses do not need drip irrigation. It will be expensive and not efficient. You can go ahead with sprinkler (if crop height is low - soyabean, channa, ground nut, etc.) or go for furrow irrigation (if crop growth is high - tur, cotton, maize, etc.).