Participation Requested for Survey on Farmer Stress

Dear Farmer,

My name is Janna Imel and I am a graduate student at Virginia Commonwealth University where I am working toward my doctoral degree in Counseling Psychology. I am the daughter and granddaughter of farmers and grew up on my family farm in Kentucky, which is what ignited my passion for this specific research study. I am interested in knowing what types of stressors are unique to farmers, how American farmers cope with farm-related stressors, and how these stressors are associated with the mental and physical wellbeing of American farmers of all ages. I would greatly appreciate your assistance with my project.

You are invited to participate in this study, called “From Sunrise to Sunset: A Lifespan Approach to the Mental Health of America’s Farmers.” If you agree to participate you are asked to do the following:

• Click the following link which will take you to the survey: https://redcap.vcu.edu/surveys/?s=JPX73C9L3X
  • Read through the “Informed Consent” at the start of the survey and click “Agree” if you wish to participate. You may also choose to fill out the “Raffle Entry and Research Results” form at the end of the survey if you would like to be entered into a raffle for 1 of 4 $50 gift cards and/or if you wish to receive a summary of the results from this study once it is completed. Please note that your “Raffle and Research Results” form will be separated from your survey responses once I receive the packet.

Please complete the survey by 12/1/18