No Water source...can I go for Horticulture?

Dear Gurus’ + Enthusiasts - Need advice!

I am a newbie to farming (have some experience in kitchen farming in 4000 sq ft as hobby).
We have 10+ acres land near Malegaon(Nashik), but dont have proper water source. (1 borewell, but not in use since last 2-3 years)

Nearby farmers are growing Pomegranate by sourcing water from ground water + river bed 3-4 kms pipeline (the river has water 6 months in a year)
Can i think of Rain harvesting + Farm ponds + Borewells ?
I am interested in drip irrigation + Shade Net/Poly house farming for vegetables with 100% focus.

Looking for your kind inputs to get into this Natural way of Life!

thanks
Pankaj

Horticulture can be grown with rain-fed irrigation itself. I personally know (have seen) that it is possible to grow Horticulture in this way. I suggest you to allocate 10% of your land for storing rain water which can be utilized for growing crops.

Vegetables need more water. Unless you have sufficient water, avoid vegetables.

Regards
Padmanabhan Ganesan
agricultureforeverybody.blogspot.com

Dear Sri Pankaj,

You can do Green house/Poly house cultivation , with Rain water harvest.

You make a green house, 1 acre and construct a reservoir pond of size 20 mtr w x 40 mtr l x 4 mtr d in 8 guntas ( 20 % of an acre ). Initially fill the reservoir with Either canal water or others bore well water. in the rainy season, this reservoir pond will be connected to the gutters of your green house and will filled with your rain water , comes out of the green house. Pl see that the reservoir pond is lined with 300 or 500 micron poly film in bottom and top is covered with 75 % or 90 % shade net.

In one year, the rain water collected from your green house can be around 24,00,000 ltrs water to around 28,00,000 ltrs ( nashik area, depends on rain fall ), which is very much sufficient to grow crops throught the year in one acre green house , in general.