How to get in to farming

Dear friends,

I am new to the forum & want to know about farming.I have about 24 acre land in the State of Chhattishgarh.My farm land is sarounded by jungle & a small river next to the farm.I am not sure where & how to get in to farming.Like many I also dreamt of becoming a farmer.I would like to start farming as a hobby.

I would appreciate if my friends on the forum can guide & advice me on how to go about it.Your help & support will encourage me & others alike to get in to full time farming.I have no idea about farming,though I try to read articles on farming from websites.

Thanks in advance to all.

JairajThakur

Welcome to the forum, Jairaj!

It appears you have already crossed the initial hurdle in that you already have the land, and you have adequate water. I am not a practical expert, but I believe it would help if you can provide more details about your soil type, crops you have around, if the land was cultivated before, labour availability in the area, some details of the weather, rainfall etc.

You have to decide on chemical based farming or organic way of farming. I would suggest to start on organic farming since it will make the soil/environment healthy and tasty/healthy food for you and your consumers.

To get a basics on this, you can read one straw revolution by Masanobu Fukuoka and Zero budget of natural farming by Subash Palekar. Just google and you will find it. Also a vist a number of farmers and have fun with farming.

Regards,
Nandan

first get a handson experience on farming for one year/season with a fellow farmer. then you will understand what to do in that particular area. field.

Mr. Thakur