Economics of Farmland NGO

Hi forum members,

I’m currently living in New Delhi, recently completed my post-graduation in Environmental Science. I would like some practical advice from all you experienced folks. Let me apologise in advance, my questions may seem a bit juvenile. Kindly bear with me :slight_smile:

I wanted to buy land for an NGO, as an Ashram for people in need (especially women but open to all in need) and also to serve as shelter for rescue animals and retired working animals. I would like to know if additionally conducting agricultural activities on such a land would be profitable enough for me to sustain small-scale NGO activities instead of relying solely on grants and donations.

Till now, I have zero practical experience (there are no agriculturists in my family either) but I have theoretical knowledge in forestry/agroforestry systems, so I’m not an utter beginner here.
I can make an initial investment of about 20-25 lakhs.
I do not own any land. I am open to buying anywhere which is conducive.

Through this forum and other internet resources, I see that horticulture in polyhouse can be expected to yield good returns. But then again, I do not know which States give a (substantial) subsidy for the same. Perhaps I could set up in some such state which would have maximum subsidy/cheapest bank loans.

Also I hear of Casuarina junghuhniana cultivation in the South yielding good returns.

I have read about the farmer earning 22 lakh out of 2.1 acres, but that clearly is not the norm as everyone can’t do everything ranging from rose cultivation to dog breeding.

The main question I’d like to ask is – is it a delusional dream that an NGO, even if small, can be run on agricultural/forestry-based profits? Or is the money generated only enough for a decent personal lifestyle?