Amateur white collar farming

Dear farmers and farming enthusiasists
well how to start?
only for low budget small farmers
let me state my own experiance as a small farmer
BACKGROUND: I am a medical professional with little knowledge of farming, as ameteur farmer.I as a kid used to grow lot of plants and vegetables in our garden i have grown tomato,potato,groundnut,maize brinjal,carrots,raddish,coriander chilli etc with outstanding results
we rarely used to purchase vegetables and also we used to distribute to our neighbours.My heart always used to pound for agriculture

when i grew up and had little money i purchased 5 acres of land -dry barren land relatively cheap in that region
in 2010 farmland is in hassan district and i work in kerala

farm has borewell and sprinklers and thanks to government electricity for pumps is only 4 hrs /day and that too very low voltage

problems I faced

success stories:first and foremost problem in success stories especially over internet. we will read them and start calculating and we even think giving some 20-30% buffer of loss :))on ground we fail miserably
because they publish and we read success stories which very few educated ppl achieve what they dont publish and we dont read is lots of failure stories :))
never calculate anything on success stories

labour problem:because of urbanization and lot of government schemes for labourers its very difficult to find labourers
and its even difficult now because of 1 rupee rice .they dont have to work they get 30 kg rice for 30 rs ( also heavily subsidized other products like oil sugar dals etc) so they dont have to starve and they dont have to work. One or two days work a month will get 600-800 rs which is more than sufficient to lead a sedentary life.local laborers were demanding too much