Advice for a newbie

Hello,

I live in Nashik Mahrashtra. I have a land of 3 acres in nearby area of Nashik.
I am enthusiastic to do farming on the land but being a novice, I need advise from some experts for myself.

Which type of farming would be best for me, considering I have never done that earlier.

Instead of usual crops like maze,onion etc, I am willing for something like cocoa, mango. These just came to my mind as I won’t be able to supply enough money for greenhouse/polyhouse.

Any advise would be most helpful.

Thanks in advance.

Are you a full time farmer?

what type of soil do you have? what is your water source? If you are not a full time farmer will have a resident labour?

Why did you choose cocoa? is somebody growing in your locality? you cannot sell this in open market. there are few buyers, who monapolises the market interms of rates.

Secondly you will have to processs them: cut pods, ferment seeds, dry it. very laboriouse.

There are different practises you can choose which suits to you.
1.Inorganic method:Chemical fertiliser, chemical pesticide. (Highly hazardouse to man kind and nature)
2.Half inorganic: chemical fertiliser. but organic pesticide.( Minimised hazard but not completly eco friendly)
3.Organic farming: high valued inputs like ground nut cakes,neem cakes, fish meal bone meal etc and organic pesticide.(Not hazardouse but needs lot of in puts rom external sources)
4.Palekar Method: Natural fertilisers , cost effective in puts, natural pesticides.( this economical way but takes time to give best result.Eco friendly, self sustainable( no dependecy on external inputs)
5:Fukuoka Method: No fertiliser, no pesticide. crop rotation plays role of fertiliser. No pruning of plants, No tilling feilds, no hybrid seeds, no grafting etc.( most economical, natural but takes a long time to establish. At the moment Enthusiasts only doing this method)

There are lot more like bio dynamics, pinoy farming, permaculture etc.